Thursday 23 November 2023 | Cordis Auckland


Stage One – Nominations

Stage One – Nominations

The legal industry is invited to nominate and provide insight into the most outstanding individuals, firms or organisations of 2023. All nominations must be made via the online nomination portal on the New Zealand Law Awards website. Click on one of the ‘nomination buttons’ here to start your submission.

To complete a nomination for Deal Awards you’ll be required to:

1. Provide a nomination submission of no more than 800 words following the criteria listed here.

You will be asked to provide a description on the size of the deal, the complexity of the deal, the breadth of the deal and the innovation of the deal.

To complete a nomination for In-House, Firms or Profession Awards you’ll be required to:

1. Provide a nomination submission of no more than 650 words following the criteria listed here.

Examples of suitable information to include are:

  • Awards, accolades or specific third-party commendations relevant to the award category
  • A general overview of your achievements within the judging period (1st April 2022-31st March 2023)
  • Brief details of any other special initiatives undertaken during the judging period
  • Qualitative and quantitative information on all measurable success

2. Provide a further summary for publication (max. 100 words) in either bullet point or paragraph format. The summary may be published on the event website and/or in the official winners edition of the NZ Lawyer e-magazine so please do not include any confidential information.

3. Provide your headshot (for individual nominations) or your company logo (for firms/team nominations)

4. Provide supporting documentation and a media link (this can be a link to a website, a video, a Dropbox folder, etc.).

The information you include in your nomination submissions will be provided to a panel of judges who will vote for the eventual winner in each category. Please note that this year all nominations will go straight to the judging panel and you won’t be asked for additional information in due course. 


Stage Two – Research

The NZ Law Awards team will also conduct research and draw on industry knowledge and information gained through sister publication NZ Lawyer to supplement and support nominations received and to identify the outstanding firms, teams, individual and deals in each cateogory that will receive an Excellence Award.

Stage Three – Confirmation of excellence awardees

Once the research has been completed, excellence awardees will be selected in each category and notified via e-mail. Excellence awardees will also be announced on the NZ Lawyer’s website on Thursday 31 August 2023.

Stage Four  – Judging

The NZ Law Awards team will provide full details of each Excellence Awardee to an independent panel of judges. The panel will assess and score each nomination according to the criteria listed here.

Stage Five – Winners

Using a simple points system to aggregate judges’ scores, the Excellence Awardee with the highest score in each category will be selected as the Winner. Excellence awardees will be announced on NZ Lawyer online channels on 18 August. Overall winners will be announced at the NZ Law Awards on 23 November at The Cordis Auckland, followed by an exclusive comprehensive commemorative guide.


Be sure to receive all updates about the New Zealand Law Awards by signing up to our awards mailing list. No spam and unsubscribe anytime.